DiDi Ride-Share Coming to 20 More Cities in Australia

DiDi announced that it will launch its ride-share service in 20 new Australian locations on August 10.

The new areas include Adelaide, Ballarat, Bendigo, Bunbury, Bundaberg, Busselton, Cairns, Queanbeyan, Central Coast, Coffs Harbour, Tannum Sands, Mackay, Hervey Bay, Port Macquarie, Rockhampton, Mooroopna, Toowoomba, Townsville, Wagga Wagga and Wollongong.

SEE ALSO: DiDi Robotaxi Service Begins Operation in Shanghai

“This is a significant milestone for DiDi Australia,” DiDi Australia General Manager Lyn Ma said in a statement. “With this launch, we make our safe, reliable and value-for-money ride-share accessible to more Australians and, more importantly, give more drivers the ability to benefit from our industry-leading service fees and maximize their owning potential during a difficult time.”

DiDi has promised a 0% service fee until September 6 for new drivers who sign up and get approved before August 10. Service fees will be 5% after August 10.

The company said it has 75,000 active drivers and more than 1.5 million active riders in Australia. Due to the coronavirus pandemic and stay-at-home orders, DiDi experienced a drop in the number of trips.

Launched in Geelong in 2018, DiDi Australia has been steadily expanding its market. It currently serves eight areas including the cities of Melbourne, Newcastle, Perth, Brisbane and Sydney, as well as the Gold and Sunshine Coasts.